CENL - Foundation Conference of European National Librarians
home_icon Home
   Friday, 22 September, 2017

Welcome to the website of CENL!


The Conference of European National Librarians (CENL) is a foundation under Dutch law with the aim of increasing and reinforcing the role of national libraries in Europe, in particular in respect of their responsibilities for maintaining the national cultural heritage and ensuring the accessibility of knowledge in that field. Members of CENL are the national librarians of all Member States of the Council of Europe. The conference currently consists of 49 members from 46 European countries. The European Commission has subsidised various CENL projects. Read more.

Search the collections of the European national libraries:


CENL is a partner in Europeana, Europe’s multimedia online library www.europeana.eu

From 3 January 2006 the Conference of European National Librarians is added to the list of International
Non-Governmental Organisations (INGO) enjoying participatory status with the Council of Europe.